PCMCA LogoPacific Coast Masters Curling Association       Sign In            Contact Us

About the PCMCA


Guy Philp curled at the Chilliwack Curling Club and became the President of the club in 1961. His vision was to create a competition to involve curlers at the senior level. A meeting was arranged with senior curlers in Victoria in January of 1963. A slate of officers was elected with Guy as the first Secretary/Treasurer.

Guy donated a trophy and the four zones of the new organization were established to compete for the trophy. The main rule for entry was that all members of the team had to be from the same club.

In 1970, the first competition between the coastal seniors and seniors from the equivalent interior BC association (BC Interior Masters Curling Association) took place in Kelowna. The McAllister Trophy was created to honour another curler (Jack McAllister) promoting senior curling and was awarded to the winning team at the Combined Competition.

In 1984, the interior curlers established the Walter Hobbs Trophy, which was awarded to the interior champion. These three trophies were combined into one event.

In 2015 the Constitution was amended to allow Women and Mixed teams to compete in the Provincial Championships. In 2018 the Society updated it's Bylaws to conform to the new B.C. Societies Act.